Undergraduate Advising

classroom

Undergraduate Advising

Ongoing Advising

 

It is important and beneficial to take the opportunity to schedule timely advising for assistance and achieving success. Students should plan their program of study in the major with the help of a departmental advisor as soon as possible in order that the correct sequence of courses is taken and a proper set of electives is chosen. Students are advised that CR/NC grades are not acceptable in courses to be counted for the Computer Science major or minor programs. It is also suggested that students consult with an advisor before selecting courses to meet the General Education requirements.

Check out an Advisor during their available advising sessions:

Advisor Phone Number Room Availability
Abeer AlJarrah
abeer@sfsu.edu
(415) 405-0787 Thornton Hall 949 Tuesday: 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Jozo Dujmovic
jozo@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2207 Thornton Hall 946 Friday: 2:15 p.m. - 3:15 p.m.
Pooyan Fazli
pooyan@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-6412 Science Building 246 Thursday: 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Shah Rukh Humayoun
humayoun@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2858 Thornton Hall 967 Wednesday: 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Anagha Kulkarni
ak@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2539 Thornton Hall 970 Tuesday: 12:45 p.m. - 1:45 p.m.
Dragutin Petkovic
petkovic@sfsu.edu
(415)338-2261 Thornton Hall 968 Monday: 7:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Rahul Singh
rahul@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2307 Thornton Hall 913 Wednesday: 7:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m.
Isabel Hyo Jung Song
hjsong@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7688 Thornton Hall 909 Thursday: 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Jingyi Wang
jingyiwang@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-6986 Thornton Hall 969 Wednesday: 4:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.


Transfer Advising

 

Transfer students are strongly encouraged to get advising before starting at SF State. Here are some advising tips:

 

Advisor Phone Number Room Availability
William Hsu
whsu@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7688 Thornton Hall 910 Thursday: 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
James Wong
jwong@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2858 Thornton Hall 930 Monday: 9:15 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.
3:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday: 9:15 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.


Probation Advising

 

Students who need probation advising should see the Probation Advisor first, and then the Department Chair. If a probation adviser cannot be reached on time (i.e. during recess and vacations), see the Chair.

For more information please follow the link provided: University Probation Information Web Page

 

Advisor Phone Number Room Availability
William Hsu
whsu@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7688 Thornton Hall 910 Thursday: 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
James Wong
jwong@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2858 Thornton Hall 930 Monday: 9:15 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.
3:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Wednesday: 9:15 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.