Undergraduate Advising

classroom

Undergraduate Advising

It is important and beneficial to take the opportunity to schedule timely advising for assistance and achieving success. Students should plan their program of study in the major with the help of a departmental advisor as soon as possible in order that the correct sequence of courses is taken and a proper set of electives is chosen. Students are advised that CR/NC grades are not acceptable in courses to be counted for the Computer Science major or minor programs. It is also suggested that students consult with an advisor before selecting courses to meet the General Education requirements. The Ongoing Advisors listed below can assist with signing graduation applications.

Check out an Advisor during their available advising sessions:

Advisor Phone Number Room Availability
Abeer AlJarrah
abeer@sfsu.edu
(415) 405-0787 Thornton Hall 949 Monday: 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEtfuGrrTguHN3IK7CvSINRbpgengCUKTLA
Pooyan Fazli
pooyan@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-6412 Science Building 246 Tuesday: 12:30 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJUtcOqqpzIqEt2Dqr52fAoFhOetOHXJVnmq
Shah Rukh Humayoun
humayoun@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2858 Thornton Hall 967 Thursday: 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZctceGspzgiGdR49A8QDtjm__I-Aja-ethP
Arno Puder
arno@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2853 Thornton Hall 907 For advising hours, please schedule an appointment through email.
Isabel Hyo Jung Song
hjsong@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-7688 Thornton Hall 909 Tuesday: 8:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZUqde6qqzIpHtWp8DKs1Xvl60BwHnuxezH7


Transfer Advising

 

Transfer students are strongly encouraged to get advising before starting at SF State. Here are some advising tips:

 

Advisor Phone Number Room Availability
Jingyi Wang
jingyiwang@sfsu.edu
(415) 405-2636 Thornton Hall 969 Wednesday: 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEtcOioqT0tHtS4yM4bJ-O6dh_QKTAloaNf
James Wong
jwong@sfsu.edu
Monday: 1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.
Wednesday: 1:30 p.m. - 2:15 p.m.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/91030066580?pwd=WWFOMWRwbGhLbllqd2VjOFVMUkZyZz09
Ilmi Yoon
ilmi@sfsu.edu
(415) 338-2335 Thornton Hall 910 Tuesday: 3:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

https://sfsu.zoom.us/j/87274699662?pwd=R1J4ajdZNmZXTmF4UWF3OHpoWS9rQT09